Beijing, Okinawa, Seoul, Atlanta, Chattanooga, Seattle, Chicago, Jeju!

Standard

17 February 2012 marked (hold on, let me count them up) 7 months and 8 days that I had been living in Tennessee after moving back from Beijing. I’ve sat in 7 airports in those 7 months and I’m getting ready to add my eighth one.

I just got settled here in Tennessee (whatever that word is supposed to mean) in my own apartment in December, after staying with Lanny and Leah who graciously gave me a place to live from July – December. It’s been good. I’ve been happy to be here.  Maybe its crazy to think of leaving so soon. I’m teaching Sunday School, loving my job at Cormetech working on their China Project, working out at the YMCA regularly, going to church, volunteering, eating all healthy complete with drinking almond milk, hanging out with friends and family, yknow…. all those things I’m supposed to do. Having a routine. Living life. I was supposed to be past my awkward “What? I’m not in China anymore?? There are 100 varieties of cereal I can pick from??” stage. I paid off my car. Finally. I have no debt except for my undergrad student loans. I finished my MEd. I was saving up to buy a house…. I know, I know. All of this is true.

But if you know me, you know I am afflicted by wanderlust. If its possible, I’ve been homesick for places I’ve never actually BEEN.

So anyway, back to Feb. 17th. I woke up, checked gmail on my phone and and there was a short email with only one word in the subject line “Korea???”. Shelly and I last talked at Panera just a few days before she was leaving to teach at Korea International School, Jeju. And her email said her school had an opening for first grade (which I have been teaching since 2007 so this is right up my alley!)

Well, here I am now on the 4 March. I’ve accepted a first grade position and I will be in South Korea on Jeju Island before the calendar turns to April. I did a lot of praying about taking this job after my interview and I didn’t really feel anything one way or another. I changed my prayers to be “Lord, just show me something you want me to see today. It doesn’t have to be with the job. I just want to feel like we’ve had a conversation.”

Then I talked to my trainer about it cause I was helping one of his interns with an evaluation. Right there in that gym, while I’m doing my bike sprints, he just started praying out loud. It was awesome. I knew that friends have been praying for me and this opportunity (I shared it with a few close people before I decided for sure on it) but just knowing that Michael prayed right there and then really spoke to me. I was sweating and gross and we doing this insane 45 second sprint thing on the recumbent bike with my eyes closed and hands lifted saying “Amen, Amen” right along with him.

Then I pulled into work and right as I was about to turn the key, this song came on: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c24En0r-lXg&ob=av3e  Chris Tomlin “I Lift My Hands”…. and there I went again, hands up, eyes closed… and at the end of the song I had such a peace. Not even really the word peace… just… a sense of God’s presence… an answer to my prayer.

So, it’s official. I’m going!

I’m super excited, although honestly — today when I went to Big Lots to get some stuff for my new classroom I saw these really pretty vases and I thought “Wow, that would look so cute in my bathroom. If I didn’t leave I could buy that!” and then this evening I started to drag things out to pack (my least favourite part of being such a vagabond) and I was chastising myself for gathering so many things…. in so few months…. and even worse, how could I prioritise these things…?? I want to take THEM! I know there’s not a feasible way to take all of it, nor is it neccessary. But a girl can dream.  (and yes, that dreaming includes being able to pack people up and take them in my suitcase too!….)

So I’m packing up things like my pretty green teapot I bought at Goodwill for storage and it will be here when I get back. I will pack my hair gel so my hair doesn’t get frizzy though…. and not feel a least bit guilty about it. God will use me with frizzy hair, yes, but I’m pretty sure He could do more with me when my curls are somewhat tamed. 🙂

Oh, I take it back. I forgot about when I flew out of Nashville…. well, 8 airports in 7 months doesn’t have the same ring as 7 airports in 7 months, so I guess I’ll let it slide.

Here we go friends, another adventure. Hope my blog can keep up with the ride. Cheers.

Christina

P.S. I apparently cannot count….I just remembered Rainy, Erika, Anne, Lisa and I flew into Shanghai (PVG) and stayed for a couple days on our way to Okinawa, Japan……

About CRIL

Here I am in an attempt to find healing, hope, truth, pain, beauty... here I stand with my arms open wide... I'm not settling for what I am... instead I am searching for what I am meant to become when all that is reflected through me is Him and His Glory... I am confident that the path He has set before me is both sorrow *and* joy... it is not up to me to determine which is which... (written by me when I was an undergrad... still true today)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

