And you thought you had a bad day…..

Standard

I know I haven’t had a new entry recently and it’s not for lack of material but for lack of time.  Each night I’ve sat down and began an entry in my head and then drifted off to Sleepyland after I talk to Jeremiah.

Today however, I had an experience that I’ve never actually had before, so I want to immortalise the moment.

Jeju is an island, so it is windy. I pretty much hate the wind, especially when its blowing in my face. Today however, it was in spurts and I of course had to teach, so I guess I just took it in stride. It’s (according to the internet) blowing strong as I write at 32mph and its the tamest spurt we’ve had all day. After the little munchkins were off to the bus and finished our team planning meeting, I headed back to Shelly’s apartment to take a nap. At five, Bryon and James and Renee and I all got in the car and went to Seogwipo to eat dinner and go to E-mart. Dinner was nice, a teriyaki bacon cheeseburger, and water. E-mart was pretty humdrum and no big stories there except for I tried to buy carrots and there wasn’t a twisty tie on the bag so the produce lady told me a whole bunch of stuff in Korean and took my carrots and put them back in the bin with the other bags of carrots. Then she walked away. Then another Korean produce lady came up behind her took the bag, wrapped a twisty tie on it and handed them back.

We stopped at 7-11 on the way back to get James some kimbap. I’ve eaten kimbap for a long time now, but I didn’t actually know that kim is the Korean word for seaweed and bap is the Korean word for rice. So there ya go. I did know a little bit of Korean. And it makes perfect sense because…. kimbap is…. (wait for it….) rice wrapped in seaweed! 🙂  Oh, and we also got the whole vehicle a round of Snickers bars.

So it’s dark and sprinkling misty rain and super windy. Bryon, Renee and I are sitting in the car waiting when a ton of papers blow by our car. Then some more papers blow by and up down the street into traffic. Then it hit us. “Is that MONEY?!?” we all chorused together. So we jumped out and started helping the poor gas station attendant try to collect the money that was flying all throughout the air. I actually broke into a run and was almost to the other intersection. We managed to gather a good amount between all of us but I still think we lost quite a bit of it. Bless his heart…. he did NOT look like he was having a very good day….poor fella!

We get back in the car and head home when we see more money down the road a ways. So Renee and I jumped out to get it and we drove back to the guy to give it to him. James and I threw in some of our own money in hopes of making up for the deficit of money he lost.

So there’s something that doesn’t happen every day… chasing down flying money. In the dark. In Korea.

Image

About CRIL

Here I am in an attempt to find healing, hope, truth, pain, beauty... here I stand with my arms open wide... I'm not settling for what I am... instead I am searching for what I am meant to become when all that is reflected through me is Him and His Glory... I am confident that the path He has set before me is both sorrow *and* joy... it is not up to me to determine which is which... (written by me when I was an undergrad... still true today)

Leave a Reply

