Functionally Illiterate

Standard

Most of the time it can be completely frustrating to be basically, for all intents and purposes, illiterate. Especially when you are trying to purchase basic items. I’ve had friends who purchased cars in Korea and were signing tons of papers and had no idea what they were signing. I signed about 20 pages for my bank account. Do I know what I signed? Nope, not a clue. A good friend of mine once purchased toothpaste, paying close attention to the flavour and picking mint. It had a green leaf on it. Mint toothpaste always has a green leaf on it. Guess what? So does green tea flavoured toothpaste. Not the greatest surprise ever when you wake up and put green tea toothpaste into your mouth before you realise your error. I’ve even had a couple of instances that are too embarrassing to blog about.

Sometimes, however, it’s hilarious to be illiterate. You rely on symbols, pictures and prior knowledge. You buy products based off other’s gambles and successes. Memorizing the colours of a shampoo bottle or peanut butter product or laundry stain remover. I was pleased to find out yesterday that the same colour of jar lids for Skippy peanut butter versions in China also extends to Korean sold Skippy. (Light blue is creamy, dark blue is crunchy, yellow is honey and dark brown is chocolate mixed with peanut butter, in case you ever need that vital information!)

Image

I don’t drink too much milk other than in cereal, and in the States I started drinking almond milk. I don’t like the way the milk tastes at work in the cafeteria and in China the milk just tasted like water unless I bought this one certain brand (which was usually sold out.)  There’s more selection here but of course, I can’t read any of the labels. So I picked one that was moderately priced and tried it. It tasted pretty good so I’ve bought it three times now. Yesterday I found out why!

Renee and I went to go get her milk and she’s looking on the bottles to find skim milk. You’ve gotta look for the small 1% that’s on the bottom of the label on the back. I didn’t think about looking to find 2% milk in this way so I pointed to the kind I’ve been buying and said “This one tastes pretty good. I’ve bought it a few times.” I thought, Hey, I wonder if my milk is Skim, 2%, what not. So we turn the label around and around until we find it in about this > . <  size font “100%”.  So I’ve been drinking whole milk. LOL! No wonder it tasted so darn good! I guess next time I’ll be hunting for a different bottle now that my illiterate ignorant bliss regarding my milk has been shattered. 🙂

 

Napoleon Dynamite: [referring to Deb’s milk] I see you’re drinking 1%. Is that ’cause you think you’re fat? ‘Cause you’re not. You could be drinking whole if you wanted to.

About CRIL

Here I am in an attempt to find healing, hope, truth, pain, beauty... here I stand with my arms open wide... I'm not settling for what I am... instead I am searching for what I am meant to become when all that is reflected through me is Him and His Glory... I am confident that the path He has set before me is both sorrow *and* joy... it is not up to me to determine which is which... (written by me when I was an undergrad... still true today)

Leave a Reply

