Typhoon 3 and the the extra day

Standard

I’ve been pretty much slammed time-wise since the start of the school year. 

Along with the regular “specials” classes my students get like art, PE and music, they’re also supposed to get Korean class. 3 times a week for 1 hour each time. 3 times a week for 1 hour each time is a lot….. a lot. Especially when there isn’t a Korean teacher so now you’ve got those kids for that extra hour. And you need to plan lessons for that extra hour. And all your personal teaching supplies, worksheets, etc. got thrown away by whoever was in charge of moving it to your new classroom. And your little ones do everything in 10 minute attention time span intervals.

So pretty much its been crazy!! (but crazy in a good way). Now it’s been four weeks and the kids are starting to settle in and can line up and listen to directions for the next activity. Thank goodness I love what I do. Thank goodness they’re starting to get used to me and how I roll. Thank goodness they’re a lot of fun, very lively and spirited and not afraid to make mistakes. There’s nothing worse than the quiet Asian class who is afraid to answer a question because they aren’t 10005% sure of the answer.  Our schedule is busy despite not having Korean class and I’ve been using the time to throw in extra phonics and language arts classes. Our schedule built up over the last two weeks. We started grades 123 literacy groups twice a week and we started our our activity periods. My kids get a chance to do dance, painting and drawing, recording, paper-folding, strings, drama, Spanish and all sort of fun activities. As for me, I’m teaching activities too. I’m teaching 4th and 5th grade cooking classes and this next week I’m planning to start Korean language classes at night twice a week. 

In the classroom, we’ve gotten a lot of work done and journals made and experiments set up for science and math clock games to go with math. We’ve filled up our reading practice books and my turn in box and our cubbies and walls with decorations. We have NOT however graded much of that work yet….. oh well. At least I’m walking around while they’re working on it so I can get a good sense of their ability and comprehension even if something doesn’t get entered into the grade book.

Things on island but outside of school have been wonderful. Partially because of my concerted effort to ensure that I am not working past the hours that I am already working. Don’t worry, I’m making sure to slack off by going into work around 6:15am every morning and not coming home until after 6pm, because I need to be there until 4:40pm. Never fear the balanced personal life is here! Haha, but really. I’ve been frequenting my favourite little cafe here, 7373. It’s front view is of the ocean and the cool breezy nights have been perfect for sitting in their outside seating area. I’ve also made sure to get my fill of the beach and swimming before its winter here. My new favourite beach here is Gwakji beach and the best fish and chips in Jeju at a place called Tae Hee Cafe. The only major problem with Tae Hee is its a place you want to tell all your friends about and keep your own secret at the same time.

Really, that’s pretty much it with a few side excursions thrown in. 

About CRIL

Here I am in an attempt to find healing, hope, truth, pain, beauty... here I stand with my arms open wide... I'm not settling for what I am... instead I am searching for what I am meant to become when all that is reflected through me is Him and His Glory... I am confident that the path He has set before me is both sorrow *and* joy... it is not up to me to determine which is which... (written by me when I was an undergrad... still true today)

Leave a Reply

