Hospitals, Hamsters….everyday life as I know it

Standard

Well, I’ve been back since the day after my birthday and it already seems like so much has happened and it’s been ages, but it hasn’t even been a month. Not much is going on other than work, which is exhausting but rewarding. I’m slowing settling into the old routines. Some things, as much as I hate them, have forced themselves into my routine…. like Halla Hospital. I ended having to go make a emergency visit to my doctor yesterday afternoon.

That trip to the hospital was just a little too routine for me. By routine I mean I fumble around in a maze of waiting areas, payment places, prescription picking up…all with understanding what to DO to get to the point where I am meeting with a doctor, then leave with no real information about whats wrong. I have been having extreme, sudden pain in the arm that I had surgeries on in March and June of last year. This pain is irritating more than concerning, at least at this point, because it overwhelms me but it comes in waves. I’m afraid it might be nerve damage but I’m not sure if that wouldn’t have already manifested itself before now. It isn’t the bone itself or malunion, since the orthopedic surgeon did an x-ray on it when I saw him. And that’s about all I know. I’m going to try to go see an accupuncturist and see if that combined with the medicine to help the arm works to stop the pain. I didn’t even have the energy to figure out why the nurse said ‘Fever, why?’ at me in Korean yesterday waving the thermometer. that showed 38.2 C. I can focus and understand Celcius when it comes to outdoor temperature but with body temperature my mind thinks in Farenheit. I had no mental energy to try to convert it! I didn’t have a fever this morning so I am just chalking it up to exhaustion/pain response. I will deal with the pulmonologist and all that ma fan a completely different day when I am more up to it!

Onto happier happenings…. my class has a pet hamster! Last year they asked me if we could have a pet because Ms. Murray’s class had fish. They roped me into it…. they knew Melanie and I were good friends and they knew that if they said ‘But Ms. Murray’s class has one… we want one too!” there would be a good chance I’d cave in and buy them one. (Who can deny first graders a pet?!?!? This meanie!) At the time last year, I gave them a chance to vote on a hamster, fish, stag beetle or turtle and told them I’d buy it for this upcoming year. Making good on my promise I went to the five day market in Jeju City and bought a baby hamster for 3000 won the weekend before school started. They were ECSTATIC. And I’m a very popular person now. I earn serious positive dojo for getting that little furball. We voted on the names and then from the top choices I ended up picking one– Lindy. I love having her around and she’s growing bigger and bigger each day. Soon I will get a hamster ball and let her roll around in it!!! She’s getting big enough that she’ll stand on her back two feet and cock her little head in the cutest manner!

Well, that’s all for now. I do want to write about ‘Breakfast Club’ and our newly formed book club (both exciting) but that’s a blog entry for another day.

CRIL

20130829-100806 PM.jpg

About CRIL

Here I am in an attempt to find healing, hope, truth, pain, beauty... here I stand with my arms open wide... I'm not settling for what I am... instead I am searching for what I am meant to become when all that is reflected through me is Him and His Glory... I am confident that the path He has set before me is both sorrow *and* joy... it is not up to me to determine which is which... (written by me when I was an undergrad... still true today)

Leave a Reply

