something old, something new

Standard
something old, something new

It is my season. My cup of ginger tea curled up on the couch as the wind howls. My smoke from the fire, blinding me and making me unable to breathe. I love autumn. I’m not sure why I have such an affinity for this particular season over all the others. There’s so much I attribute exclusively to fall, and you can find me deep in the winter months or in the spring mud of April trying to re-create it and re-purpose the sense of crisp air, leaves and jumpers that comes along with it.

One thing that I enjoy is watching American football. Granted, college football I prefer, mostly due to the sense of anticipation and the collective mourning or rejoicing that comes along with it. I can’t claim myself an expert by any stretch of the imagination. I won’t wake up to watch or listen to it at 3am really. I prefer to partake in it as a group activity. Living in a different timezone as when all the games are played, we had Superbowl breakfast parties instead of tailgating parties.

I was rooting for Alabama for years as a Tennessee resident merely because their colour wasn’t orange (much to the chagrin of my dear friend Verlin Tucker)

I can still clearly picture Verlin singing Rocky Top and hosting us NCBC folk at the house for game days. It was what first included me in the group of friends I had there. (probably making it why I liked to watch it so much)

Last night a gathering of guys who teach at my school were at our fifth grade teacher’s apartment, Tupper. Tupper’s house was out of the smoky firepit area and I wanted to hang out and see how their Fantasy Football NFL Draft was going to go. Just some beer, conversation and men yelling about players on a football team. Sounds fun, right? Well remember when I said I don’t really know much about American football?? Haha! Somehow Katie, Cathy (who decided to join our team and leave) and I ended up being one of the teams who would participate in the FF KIS league. This left us trying to figure out if we had all the positions, which positions we needed first, Googling names, picking somewhat artibarily and somewhat strategically and trying to scroll through ESPN’s top 300 projected picks ! Daisy came up halfway through and that just added to the fun. Oh, and might I mention doing all of this by scribbling out our thoughts on paper towels before eventually through Round 10 I figured we should get a piece of paper to write down who we had already picked!

Anyway I don’t think we did half bad. Here’s the top 4 that I’m excited about and they better do well, since my 25 bucks is in a pot and Katie and I want to get 1,000 US return if our team wins! (if not, no big deal… but seriously… now I’m in it to win it!)

Four that we have on our team
(something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue)

Something old

— labelled in one article as a “veteran statistical marvel” — and for darn good reason, he’s GB’s number 1 QB …. we weren’t playing around when it came to QB’s. We have Green Bay Packer’s Aaron Rodgers as our first round pick…. setting the precedent on the Ladies Team to keep up the good picks throughout the rest of the night.

Something new

— Giovanni Bernard. He hurt his knee a few years ago and he’s a relatively young player, but his name is cool, his parents are Haitian immigrants, he looks fast and I am thinking this will turn out to be a winner this year.

Something borrowed

— Last round pick (and therefore possibly playing on borrowed time) due to the fact his knee was having problems. Still projected to do well (and I can use him later since he can be a ‘flex’ player) is Tennessee’s Kendall Wright. An article I read this morning states that “Tennessee Titans Kendall Wright is dealing with a sprained knee, but the team thinks he will be ready for the regular season opener. ”

Something blue

— When it comes to Blue, Katie and I pay homage to a town we both lived in and a team you can’t help not love…. Seattle Seahawks as our defense choice. Not only do I feel my slight homesickness from this pick (despite not living in WA for over 10 years) but I also feel closer to ‘home’ knowing we are going to pulverize because we have the best defense in the entire NFL. 12th MAN! Whoo!

And our whole team roster:

1. Aaron Rodger’s – Green Bay QB
2. Reggie Bush – Detroit Lions RB
3. Randall Cobb – Green Bay WR
4. Jared Cook – St. Louis Rams TE
5. Brandon Pettigrew – Detroit Lions TE
6. Vincent Jackson – Tampa Bay WR
7. Seattle Seahawks Defense
8. Jermaine Kearse – Seattle WR
9. Jay Feely – Arizona Cardinals kicker
10. Giovanni Bernard – Cin Bengals RB
11. Ben Roethlisberger – Steelers (our backup QB)
12. Mike Williams – Tampa Bay WR
13. Lance Moore St. Louis Rams WR
14. Joseph Randle – Cowboys RB
15. Kendall Wright

(Now that I think about it, I believe we are missing 1… maybe lol!)

So what do you think? Project our team will do well?? Happy NFL season!

Leave a Reply

