I’m now in the ‘Fan Club’

Standard
I’m now in the ‘Fan Club’

This week our school (KIS) is on holiday break for Chusuk. Chusuk is a harvest festival based on the lunar calendar that falls during autumn each year celebrated by Koreans not only in North and South Korea but all over. My friend is celebrating even in Los Angeles this year! For me, the weather is still gorgeous and because I am blessed I have spent the break mainly outdoors.

On Monday I went to an outdoor market and the beach. I spent my beach time in the water boogie boarding. The beach was a new one I haven’t been to called Pyseon (sp??) That was fun, I am still trying to get the hang of relearning with my wrist and it’s lack of ROM. But I did fairly well. On Tuesday, I went to the largest market on the island (Jeju City 5 day market) and grocery shopping plus lunch with my jiejie Amber, Amber’s daughter Lydia and a new friend, Cat. We ate at Lemon Table, then went to Lotte Mart and headed home. Upon reaching home, I went with the entire Brenneman family to Gwakji beach.

Wednesday I went cycling in the morning, then hiking and then to Hamdeok beach to swim and play football on the sand (soccer). We came back through Jeju city and ended up at a hot pot restaurant. The restaurant had Korean, Chinese and Japanese menu. Thankfully, I still have enough Chinese reading skills for us to order some beef tripe and vegetable hot pot. Spicy but good.

Now Thursday, the focus of my post. The church service I attend here in Jeju is the Youngnak English Service at Youngnak Presbyterian church. I’ve only been attending since August of last year, but I have come to really enjoy each week and the people, the teaching and music that they have. Our community is small, rotating and comfortable — forged together by this island & the work and different walks of life that have all brought us here. We have visiting speakers often and in their absence Pastor Steve and Pastor John lead us. They work at Word of Life Bible Institute (WOLBI) serving and training students who come to study the Bible. For all my YWAM friends, their program is basically the same as a DTS.

They are in a process of what I’m sure seems like endless construction of new dorms, classrooms and a cafeteria for their students. Yesterday, the Brennemans and myself, the Karpers and Mindy and the Carpenters came with us and we did a day helping out there. They moved wood, helped put up ceiling pieces, cleaned up sawdust and all sorts of things I’m sure (I didn’t see them in action much as Amber and I were up the hill working) A huge pile of wood beams was inside and needed to be moved outside– they did a great job. Amber and I worked through the morning to clean a donated fridge and freezer. Then we went to the dorm rooms and classrooms to collect, disassemble, dust, wash, and use the air compressor on stand up fans. I lost count but there were over 20 fans. Then we re-assembled them. Kim came up and helped us before lunch too. After lunch, Amber and I found more fans. It was actually a lot of fun. An accomplishment you could see and a nice sun and breeze to work in. Now reassembling each fan— ha! Lots of screws and turning fan parts and blades opposite directions. Every single time I tried to turn that fan blade to the right, but it screws on to the left…. who would have thought?? 🙂 I’m an official member of the WOLBI “fan club”!

The opening week for WOLBI students is next week. I am sure, particularly after a Chusuk holiday (equivalent to an American’s Thanksgiving… a very big family holiday) that some of these students will be more homesick than they normally would be. Would you commit to pray for them as they
start classes? Pray that God would speak to them in a way He hasn’t ever spoken to them before. Pray that the Holy Spirit would impress upon the hearts of those who have time or talent to volunteer or help at WOLBI — in construction, in cleaning, in giving?

A new cafeteria and dorm. Cleaning fans and moving wood. That’s just a little snapshot of the work The Lord is doing all throughout Asia, but specifically Jeju where I live. These people working at WOLBI are my friends and I know them personally — each week they are tirelessly and selflessly working to advance the Kingdom.

Here’s a link to P. Steve’s facebook from Wednesday if you’re interested in knowing how you could help serve:
https://www.facebook.com/wolasia/posts/10201522899967712

About CRIL

Here I am in an attempt to find healing, hope, truth, pain, beauty... here I stand with my arms open wide... I'm not settling for what I am... instead I am searching for what I am meant to become when all that is reflected through me is Him and His Glory... I am confident that the path He has set before me is both sorrow *and* joy... it is not up to me to determine which is which... (written by me when I was an undergrad... still true today)

Leave a Reply

