A’maze’ing Adventures so far in March

Standard

On March 2nd, I was so acutely aware of the fact the sun was shining and I was not in a hospital bed. I am so grateful that my year has included hospital VISITS and appointments but no overnight stays for my wrist or for my asthma. GOD IS GOOD! I think I need to say it more often. GOD IS GOOD! When things are busy and uncertain and plans are changed (like today on our field trip!), God is still good. He is still with us. I’ve had a song in my heart the last couple weeks and I hope it stays there. And time just fast-forwarded from March 2nd until the beginning of this week.

What is special about this week you ask? It is the annual KIS Elementary Service Leading Week. This is my third year doing this and every year it has been ‘something’ out of the ordinary. The first year I was pretty much jet-lagged since I just arrived at KIS and I hardly knew my own students, much less ALL of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd graders. Then last year, I was in the hospital because of my wrist surgery/asthma and everyone scrambled to try to execute the sections I had been in charge of handling. My role was just in support and planning, not in participating. Our theme has been “Peace” all three years, in various ways and forms.  This year I was determined to have nothing standing in my way to stop me from a peaceful and smooth Service Leading Week. We don’t go on international trips like the older students do, but we plan just as much busyness into our week and our schedule is disrupted. It’s hard for me to believe that today is already March 13th.

Monday, Wednesday and Friday we had rotating sessions and I did my bit about peace and sports. We are doing rotating sessions so I have the same lesson and project five times. It is really well organised and my team has done a great job. On Tuesday and Thursday we have field trips. Tuesday we went to the Botanical Gardens and Jungmun beach. The weather was fantastic and I had a great time just enjoying my students and walking through the peaceful gardens that are themed by country.  It ended up that I did have one bit of craziness for this year’s service leading — I missed Wednesday due to taking 4th and 5th graders to a Battle of the Books competition in Seoul. I think we all had a good time and learned a lot for how to prepare better next time. We did really well, but the biggest problem was our hands were just often split-seconds behind the other team. Still, our loss was not by many points and I am extremely proud of them and all of their hard work.  Today we went to the Gimyoung Maze Park and then the lava tubes. In the maze, I was reminded of how there are so many different solutions to problems we encounter (or ways that countries can work to achieve peace) and they all might look the same, or some might look promising and then not work — or others still might be long, winding, never-ending processes. However, the many paths ultimately led to the centre and the end of the maze. I had a student who got lost and was crying in the middle of it. From up above, I was able to talk to her and she and the two third graders with her problem solved and found their way out. I couldn’t go to her, but I could comfort her with my words and my presence from the top platform bridge. The friends walking beside her held her hand and didn’t leave her. It was a humble reminder of the friends God has placed in my life, to help comfort and guide and the confidence that even if I don’t feel Him there, He is guiding me with His voice. 

Well, I guess that’s all for now. I just wanted to update. I want to be better at that and get back into the habit of reflecting on how good God is to me. 

 

Put on the New Self  Colossians 3:16 – 17 
…Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God. Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father.

 

About CRIL

Here I am in an attempt to find healing, hope, truth, pain, beauty... here I stand with my arms open wide... I'm not settling for what I am... instead I am searching for what I am meant to become when all that is reflected through me is Him and His Glory... I am confident that the path He has set before me is both sorrow *and* joy... it is not up to me to determine which is which... (written by me when I was an undergrad... still true today)

Leave a Reply

